The Chicago Manual of Style strives to codify the best practices of an institution and an industry. It thus requires the participation of many hands and many voices if it is to succeed. This edition has benefited from the carefully crafted recommendations—some sweeping, some minor, all essential—of a host of publishing professionals. At the same time, those recommendations needed to be compared, vetted, and applied in a consistent manner and with a clear vision, a challenging task performed once again in exemplary fashion by this edition’s principal reviser, Russell David Harper.

A preliminary outline as well as the entire penultimate draft of the manuscript was shaped by the guidance of an advisory board representing various communities of readers:

  • Shaye Areheart, Columbia Publishing Course
  • Richard Brown, Georgetown University Press
  • Marilyn Campbell, Rutgers University Press
  • Samuel Fanous, Bodleian Library
  • Barbara Flanagan, Macmillan Higher Education
  • William Germano, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
  • John E. Muenning, New England Journal of Medicine
  • Peter Olson, Sheridan Journal Services
  • Joshua Tallent, Firebrand Technologies

Freelance editor Joe Brown, John E. McIntyre of the Baltimore Sun, and Hope J. LeGro and Kathryn Owens of Georgetown University Press also offered numerous invaluable suggestions during the development process.

We would like to thank the many experts who advised us on our coverage of languages: Michael K. Bourdaghs, T. David Brent, Erik Carlson, Dennis Cokely, Thibaut d’Hubert, Ariela Finkelstein, Victor Friedman, Kathleen Hansell, Wadad Kadi, Elsi Kaiser, Ron Kekeha Solis, Kathryn Krug, John M. Lipski, Bruce Maylath, Christina von Nolcken, Lena Elisabeth Norrman, David A. Pharies, Thomas Shannon, Malynne Sternstein, Sem Sutter, Anna Szabolcsi, Jane Marie Todd, Marta Tonegutti, and Yuan Zhou. We are indebted to Diana Gillooly and Rick Schoen for their advice on mathematics; to Leslie Keros for her guidance on documentation; to Krista Coulson for her insights on digital publishing conventions; to Dean Blobaum for his recommendations on metadata; and to Michael Magoulias for his knowledge of journals publishing. We are also grateful to Susan Bielstein, Perry Cartwright, and Lisa Lucas for their review of copyright and permissions material; and to Ryden Anderson, Joseph Bizup, William T. FitzGerald, Ellen Gibson, Cheryl Iverson, and Angela Yokoe, who provided assistance on a variety of matters. We also owe a particular debt to Bryan A. Garner and William S. Strong for their authorship of whole chapters.

Within the University of Chicago Press, thanks go to David Morrow and Mary E. Laur, who oversaw the revision and publication process and advised on the many incarnations of the manuscript; to Michael Boudreau, Ruth Goring, Christie Henry, Carol Kasper, Michael Koplow, Devon Ritter, Carol Fisher Saller, Anita Samen, and Jill Shimabukuro for their essential role in shaping the manuscript; to Rossen Angelov, Matt Avery, and Debra Hebda for their leadership in developing the online edition; to Rachel Kelly, Bryanna Tartt, and Susan Zakin for their critical logistical support; and to Press director Garrett Kiely. Many other staff members contributed their knowledge and skills at various stages of the process: Carrie Adams, Skye Agnew, David Balsley, Adeetje Bouma, Michael Brehm, Owen Cook, Mary Corrado, Janet Deckenbach, Erin DeWitt, Elizabeth Ellingboe, Kelly Finefrock-Creed, Jenni Fry, Margaret Hivnor, Vinolia Huxley, Joe Jackson, Susan Karani, John C. Kessler, Ellen Kladky, James Lilly, Caterina MacLean, Anu Manila Mathew, Richard Martin, Timothy Mennel, Renaldo Migaldi, Scott Mitchell, Priya Nelson, Patricia O’Shea, Trevor Perri, Joseph G. Peterson, Randy Petilos, Mark Reschke, Jennifer Ringblom, Rose Rittenhouse, Lauren Salas, Christine Schwab, Joel Score, Amy Smith, Levi T. Stahl, Rachel Tenuta, Alan G. Thomas, Kyle Wagner, Ryo Yamaguchi, Serene Yang, Aiping Zhang, Langchi Zhu, and Yvonne Zipter. On behalf of the press, Christine Gever proofread the book, and Do Mi Stauber prepared the index.

On a final note, this edition, like its predecessor, is in many ways most indebted to Catharine Seybold and Bruce Young, who compiled the landmark twelfth edition of this manual as well as the thirteenth, to John Grossman, who compiled the fourteenth edition, and to Margaret Mahan, who was responsible for the fifteenth. In preparing this, the seventeenth edition of the manual, we have again striven to match their high standard for what has come to be known as “Chicago style.”

The University of Chicago Press Staff

Spring 2017